Joseph Noonan-Ganley- Wednesday Lecture 10/10/18

Joseph Noonan-Ganley

Joseph Noonan-Ganley is a young male artist interested in film making and research into artists who have passed away, as he quoted in his lecture “I follow dead men”. When Joseph finds an artist he is interested in he will research about them extensively, interviewing the artists friends and family and even travelling to the places where the said artist lived and exhibited. I was interested in this idea of his intensive research , as it shows that when you are looking for inspiration from an artist it is required that you should look deeply into their history and background to gain and real understanding of who that person is.

Joseph first opened his lecture showcasing a piece of work he had created using flowers and voice clips to go alongside it. The work presented was looking on the relationship Joseph N.G had with his neighbour, and how his neighbour attempted to steal his artwork multiple times. Joseph also added to his flower work that the reason he chose flowers was due to the times when he was a child he would go out to collect flowers for his mother, but when he would return home she would be horrified by the sight of the mass abundance he had torn from the ground. This piece with objects interested me as in my work I am attempting to look more towards the idea of objectification and the meaning that single objects can hold. Also his idea of recording voice clips to go alongside the objects is interesting and I may also look into this idea in my future work.

I really enjoyed the work of Noonan Ganley, as the use of distortion of everyday noises to create something almost quite sinister. His use of the distortion of the zipper on coats was a great idea, and recently it has inspired me to also look to use sound in a video I am making, I will attempt to use this same kind of distortion of everyday noises to convey a certain image and emotion in my piece.

Leave a comment